Black Hat Football’s 209!



Stanislaus Region MapWe’ve got new folks moving to the “209” and joining Black Hat Football  every day, which raises this question: What’s the 209? Check out the map to the right for the quick answer. Black Hat’s covering all 10 leagues in the “209” — 69 schools in seven counties. It’s a big reach, but worth it because there’s a whole lot of great high school football being played in the seven counties in the southern region of the Sac-Joaquin Section.

Wait a minute … what’s the Sac-Joaquin Section? One of 10 sections spread throughout California.

It stretches from Benicia, Vallejo and Napa on the western border (the San Francisco Bay Area) … up to Yuba City in the north (above Sacramento) and across to Grass Valley (getting close to Nevada) … heading south through Placerville (not much but National Forest land between the section and Nevada) … and down the Sierra Foothills through Murphys, Sonora and Mariposa … then it cuts west through Merced to Los Banos … then North through Newman, Patterson & Tracy … & up through Stockton before it cuts west through Rio Vista, Fairfield and then takes us back to Benicia, Vallejo and Napa.

OK, so what’s Black Hat Football territory? The Northern San Joaquin Valley and Sierra foothills.

Black Hat Football tracks the entire section, but our emphasis is on the southern half – Lodi down through Merced and from Le Grand across to  Los Banos. We also follow the West side of the Northern San Joaquin Valley (Tracy- Patterson) and all the Sierra foothill schools (Mariposa up through Argonaut High in Jackson).

Here are the 10 leagues – based on the section’s recent realignment – their schools and the cities they’re located in:

Central California Athletic Association (8 teams): Big Valley Christian (Modesto), Brookside Christian (Stockton), Elliot Christian (Lodi), Millennium (Tracy), Sierra Ridge (San Andreas), Stone Ridge Christian (Merced), Turlock Christian, Venture Academy (Stockton).

Central California Conference (6 teams): Atwater, Buhach Colony (Atwater), Golden Valley (Merced), Merced, Pitman (Turlock), Turlock

Modesto Metro Conference (7 teams): Beyer (Modesto), Davis (Modesto), Downey (Modesto), Enochs (Modesto), Gregori (Modesto), Johansen (Modesto), Modesto

Mother Lode League (7 teams): Amador (Sutter Creek), Argonaut (Jackson), Bret Harte (Angels Camp), Calaveras (Sa Andreas), Linden, Sonora, Summerville (Tuolumne City)

San Joaquin Athletic Association: (6 teams): Bear Creek (Stockton), Chavez  (Stockton), Edison (Stockton), Franklin  (Stockton), McNair (Stockton), Stagg (Stockton).

Southern League (8 teams): Delhi, Denair, Gustine, Le Grand, Mariposa, Orestimba (Newman) Ripon Christian (Ripon), Waterford

Trans-Valley League (7 teams): Escalon, Hilmar, Hughson, Modesto Christian (Modesto), Mountain House, Ripon, Riverbank

Tri-City Athletic League (6 teams): Lincoln (Stockton), Lodi, St. Mary’s  (Stockton), Tokay (Lodi), Tracy, West (Tracy)

Valley Oak League (8 teams): Central Catholic (Modesto) East Union (Manteca), Kimball (Tracy), Lathrop, Manteca, Oakdale, Sierra (Manteca), Weston Ranch (Stockton)

Western Athletic Conference (7 teams): Central Valley (Ceres), Ceres, El Capitan (Merced), Livingston, Los Banos, Pacheco (Los Banos), Patterson

Independent: Riverbank